Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News
A+ A- Reset

Seabreeze Wins State Championship


‚ÄčThe Seabreeze High boys soccer team won the 3A state championship by defeating Merritt Island 2-0 at Spec Martin Stadium in DeLand on Saturday. It is the first state championship for Seabreeze since it won back-to-back titles in 1992-93.
The Sancrabs got on the board early, scoring in the 14th minute of the game to take a 1-0 lead. From there, it withstood a furious attack from Merritt Island to go into halftime with the lead intact. In the second half, with nearly 27 minutes remaining, Franco Perez delivered a beautiful shot into the right corner of the goal to give Seabreeze a 2-0 lead.
When the final whistle blew, head coach Nathan Murphy was doused with ice water and the Sandcrabs were state champions. Members of the 1992-93 championship teams joined the players on the field to celebrate the victory.
Seabreeze faced a challenging road on the way to the championship game, including a game against the defending 3A champions in the Final Four. They finished the season 23-1-2.

Seabreeze Boys Varsity Soccer Roster

1             Cameron Bowling
4             Josh Tepper
5             Nate Thompson
6             Jacon Smith
7             Cole Tepper
8             Jared Dale
10           Ben Hartsell
11           Franco Perez
12           Jaden Collins
14           Dillon Vollinger
15           Hunter Sweat
17           Connor Rioux
18           Ryan Marlett
21           Mason Godfrey
23           Will Crotty
24           Eli Juezan
26           Kris Hogan
35           Chris Kelley
42           Joost Groenendaal
43           Noah Collins

Show All Articles
VCS Outlook Web Access
VCS Staff Applications