Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksFlorida-Labor-Law

    • Florida Labor Law

    Florida Statues - Section 450 - Part 1

    The Child Labor Law covers the basic regulations governing the working relationship between minors and their employers, which applies to all teenagers under the age of 18.  As a minor, students cannot work during school hours unless exempt.
    It is the purpose of these regulations to ensure the health and education of minors in the state of Florida. The below information gives answers to some possible questions regarding the Florida Child Labor Law.
     If you have additional questions, feel free to contact our office and we will be happy to direct your concerns.

    Visit the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation from which all the below information was obtained.

    What hours does the Florida Child Labor Law allow minors to work? 
    No person under the age of 13 years or younger can be employed in any gainful occupation at any time.

    Minors age 14-15 years of age
    :
    • Are restricted from working between the hours of 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. on nights prior to a school day
    • Cannot work more than 15 hours in any one week while school is in session
    • May not work more than 3 hours or work during school hours, unless as part of a career education program or there is no 
      session of school the following day
    • Have schedule restriction, during summer or holiday breaks from school, that includes working between the hours of 9 p.m.  
      and 7 a.m., for more than 8 hours in one day, or for more than 40 hours in one week

    Minors age 16-17 years of age:
    • Are restricted from working between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6:30 a.m. on nights prior to a school day
    • Cannot work more than 30 hours in any one week while school is in session
    • May not work more than 8 hours or work during school hours, unless as part of a career education program or there is no 
      session of school the following day
    • Are not permitted to work more than 6 consecutive days in any week
    • Must take a 30-minute uninterrupted break after 4 hours of continuous work 

    Can a minor be exempt from these regulations?
     Minors can be exempt from compliance for any of the following reasons:
    • Minors between ages 16 and 17 who have graduated from high school or received a high school equivalency diploma
    • Children in domestic services in private homes, employed by their parents, or Pages in the Florida Legislature
    • Minors who hold a valid certificate of exemption issued by the school superintendent or designee
    • Minors who qualify on a hardship basis determined by the school superintendent or designee for a partial waiver 

    How do you get a partial wavier in Volusia County?
    In certain circumstances when in the best interest of the child, a partial waiver may be granted. Such partial waivers are granted on a case-by-case basis and shall be based upon factors such as economic necessity or family emergency. Determination shall be made by the school superintendent or his/her designee.
     
    For further information regarding obtaining a Volusia County partial waiver, please contact Dianne Martin-Morgan, Coordinator, School Social Services / Safe & Drug Free Schools at (386) 734-7190, ext. 20755 or 20765.

    Frequently Asked Questions by Educators
    Protecting Youth Workers Florida's Child Labor Law Brochure
     
    Translate This Page
    Twitter
    YouTube
    VCS Outlook Web Access
    VCS Staff Applications
    VPortal